8 Data Science Projects You Can Do at Your Current Job

These data science projects can be done in any language, in any career

Zulie Rane
7 min readJun 14, 2021
Photo by Christina Morillo from Pexels

Imagine if you had all the time in the world and you were also somehow magically funded. That would make it incredibly easy to get a data science job by practicing data science skills with side projects, at your leisure.

But most of us don’t live in this dream world.

When I was looking for a data science job, I read so many articles that told me to simply “do side projects” in my free time to get those tasty data science skills. The reality was that I had a full-time job, a busy social life, a side hustle, and furry dependents (my cats). I can’t imagine how hard it is for folks who have actual human kids, or busier/more stressful jobs than mine. And to be totally honest, I was a little grudging about giving up my free time to do these data science projects.

My solution was simple: as a customer success rep, I found data science projects I could do as part of my current work. Most employers give you a bit of breathing room to pursue work tasks that help your job, but I did ask beforehand to make sure it was OK.

I scoped out a data science project — collecting data from marketing touchpoints to try to predict which resources were most…

--

--

Zulie Rane

Writer and cat mom. Opinions are my own. This is my just-for-fun profile! My official Medium profile is @Zulie_at_Medium.