Zulie Rane’s Policy on Ads, Sponsorship, and Branded Content

Zulie Rane
7 min readJan 11, 2023
Image sourced from the Midjourney Discord server. I like this picture because it represents exactly how I feel about being inundated with branded, sponsored, and advertising content.

This blog post is mostly about everything I think is wrong about the ad-driven online creator world today, and also to announce that I’m launching a newsletter subscription called Ad-Free Zulie.

The subscription includes my content with no paywalls, no ads, no popups, no sponsors, no branding, nothing. Only value.

https://zuliewrites.ck.page/products/ad-free-zulie

Why am I doing this?

“Not another newsletter subscription!” I hear the naysayers call.

Hey, I get it! But you want to know why I really believe in this?

I would like to live in a world without ads. More importantly, I would like to create content in a world without ads.

Today’s world is built to show ads to people, rather than to deliver quality content. I don’t just mean billboards and TV ads. I am talking about how online media has been altered by the inexorable pressure of digital advertisers.

You probably don’t even realize how insidious it is! At least, I didn’t until I started making money by posting stuff online. Over the course of the next few years, I learned how almost everything I post is…

--

--

Zulie Rane

Writer and cat mom. Opinions are my own. This is my just-for-fun profile! My official Medium profile is @Zulie_at_Medium.