Overemployment: How Remote Workers Take on 2+ Jobs (and 2+ Salaries)

Workers are doing four jobs — and taking home four paychecks.

Zulie Rane
18 min readNov 14, 2022
Young gorgeous woman standing behind iron grate
Photo by Andrea Piacquadio: https://www.pexels.com/photo/young-gorgeous-woman-standing-behind-iron-grate-3831080/

Polly has a secret.

Polly is cheating on her job with three other jobs.

She is taking home four paychecks–all without telling any of her four bosses.

This is overemployment.

I’ve seen people take on anywhere between four to eight jobs.

I’ve seen people earn thirty thousand dollars a month through overemployment.

Screenshot from the Overemployed subreddit.

Overemployment is not for everyone. It’s not easy, because you’re doing two jobs. Sometimes it can feel a little shady. But if you can handle the work and you’re not afraid of a white lie, overemployment can be a workable proposition.

Long-time readers can predict how interesting this was to me since I’m a firm believer in owning your own time. I’ve written before about cheating on your job with your side hustle, and so I was fascinated to get the chance to learn more about cheating on your job with your other job.

--

--

Zulie Rane

Writer and cat mom. Opinions are my own. This is my just-for-fun profile! My official Medium profile is @Zulie_at_Medium.